Nant Writers’ Retreat

 

COVID-19

With the current official guidelines regarding COVID-19 suggesting that we all avoid social contact for the next 12 weeks, Literature Wales has taken the decision to close its offices at Cardiff and Tŷ Newydd, and to postpone any activity we directly deliver which sees face-to-face contact. We have taken the difficult decision to cancel forthcoming courses and retreats at Tŷ Newydd Writing Centre, which also includes retreats at Nant. This is currently in place until the beginning of July 2020, but we will be following Government guidelines regarding when we can safely reopen. 

 

Welcome to Nant; a historical Grade II* listed cottage which has been newly renovated for writing retreats. Based at Tŷ Newydd Writing Centre, this self-contained, fully equipped cottage provides a comfortable and quiet haven where you can concentrate on your work in progress, add those finishing touches to your writing, or simply revive your creativity.

Nestled between the mountains and the sea, Tŷ Newydd Writing Centre is located in the village of Llanystumdwy close to the stunning Llŷn Peninsula in north-west Wales. There are miles of coastal and woodland walks nearby to explore and inspire.

“The atmosphere was perfect for writing! The cottage was beautiful and comfortable and I felt incredibly motivated!”

Practicalities

The cottage has been specially designed to provide you with a quiet, dedicated space to concentrate on your writing. Nant comprises: a large modern kitchen, two double bedrooms (with king-size beds) each with a spacious writing desk, and a separate bathroom with large walk-in shower. Wi-Fi is available throughout the house, and a cosy seating area awaits you in the lounge after a long day of writing.

Retreats are available for a three (Friday to Monday), four (Monday to Friday) or seven-night stay (Monday to Monday). Guests will usually have access to the Tŷ Newydd gardens, our extensive library collection and Literature Wales staff will be available to discuss our Writer Development schemes and opportunities. Retreats are self-catered, and the cottage has a large modern kitchen complete with oven, hobs, microwave, kettle and toaster. During Tŷ Newydd residential courses, catering may be available for a small additional fee. Please contact us to discuss options further.

Prices, starting from £300, are based on one person staying, ensuring that you have all the peace and quiet required to concentrate on your writing. There is a small additional charge for a booking for two writers to cover associated costs:

 

Nights Price for 1 Writer Price for 2 Writers
Monday – Friday (4 nights) £400 £500
Friday – Monday (3 nights) £300 £375
Monday – Monday (7 nights) £650 £800

 

Please note that these are prices for a writing retreat.
If you are interested in booking Nant for a private holiday, please contact us.

 

See our FAQs for more information about Nant Writers’ Retreat.

Book now

2020

July

Friday 3 – Monday 6 July (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 6 – Monday 13 July (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 6 – Friday 10 July (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 10 – Monday 13 July (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 13 – Friday 17 July (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Monday 13 – Monday 20 July (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Friday 17 – Monday 20 July (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 27 July – Monday 3 August (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 27 – Friday 31 July (4 nights) from £400: Book now

August

Friday 14 – Monday 17 August (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Mon 24 – Mon 31 August (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 24 – Friday 28 August (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 28 – Monday 31 August (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 31 August – Monday 7 September (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 31 August – Friday 4 September (4 nights) from £400: Book now

September

Friday 4 – Monday 7 September (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 7 – Monday 14 September (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 7 – Friday 11 September (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 11 – Monday 14 September (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 14 – Monday 21 September (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 14 – Friday 18 September (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 18 – Monday 21 September (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 21 – Monday 28 September (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 21 – Friday 25 September (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 25 – Monday 28 September (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 28 September – Monday 5 October (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 28 September – Friday 2 October (4 nights) from £400: Book now

October

Friday 2 – Monday 5 October (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 5 – Monday 12 October (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 5 – Friday 9 October (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 9 – Monday 12 October (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 12 – Monday 19 October (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 12 – Friday 16 October (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 16 – Monday 19 October (3 nights) from £300: Book now

November

Monday 2 – Monday 9 November (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 2 – Friday 6 November (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 6 – Monday 9 November (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 9 – Monday 16 November (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 9 – Friday 13 November (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 13 – Monday 16 November (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 16 – Monday 23 November (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 16 – Friday 20 November (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 20 – Monday 23 November (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 30 November – Monday 7 December (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 30 November – Friday 4 December (4 nights) from £400: Book now

December

Friday 4 – Monday 7 December (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 7 – Monday 14 December (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 7 – Friday 11 December (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 11 – Monday 14 December (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 14 – Monday 21 December (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 14 – Friday 18 December (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 18 – Monday 21 December (3 nights) from £300: Book now

Monday 21 – Monday 28 December (7 nights) from £650: Book now

Monday 21 – Friday 25 December (4 nights) from £400: Book now

Friday 25 – Monday 28 December (3 nights) from £300: Book now