Autumn Poetry Masterclass

Mon 29 October 2018 - Sat 3 November 2018
Tutors / Gillian Clarke & Robert Minhinnick
Guest Reader / Kim Moore
Course Fee / From £ per person
Genre / Poetry
Language / English

Closing date for applications: Friday 31 August 2018

This is a unique opportunity for committed poets to move their writing up a gear. The focus will be on group workshops to prompt the creation of new poems, and small group meetings for mutual support and discussion of work in progress. There will also be plenty of individual writing time and extra group workshops in the afternoons. During the week the tutors and a visiting poet will give readings of their work. Participants will edit and contribute to an anthology, which will be read in a celebratory event on Friday evening.


Details of how to apply for a place:

  1. Send 6 poems in one document (by email preferably or by post) to Tŷ Newydd by Friday 31 August 2018. Make sure that all your work has your name and contact details on it and is marked “Autumn Poetry Masterclass Application”. You can send them in the post or email them to
  2. Send any information regarding publication record (this is not essential)
  3. Please also let us know whether you would prefer a single or shared room—we cannot guarantee any requests. Please note that we have only 7 single room places available
  4. We will inform you by the end of September whether you have been selected. If you are selected, we will then request a deposit of £100 to confirm your place.


Poems will not be returned. The selection will be made by Robert Minhinnick and Gillian Clarke, and their decision is final. If you are asking for a bursary please send in a bursary application form with your poems (available on request).


Gillian Clarke

Gillian Clarke was National Poet of Wales 2008-2016 and was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2010. Some of her most recent publications include Selected Poems, published by Picador in 2016, Zoology, her ninth collection from Carcanet in 2017, and Roots Home, essays and a journal, by Carcanet in February 2021. Her version of Aneirin’s 7th century Welsh poem, Y Gododdin, was published as a bilingual text by Faber in May 2021. A collection of poems, The Silence, is currently in progress.



Robert Minhinnick

Essayist, poet and writer Robert Minhinnick has twice won Wales Book of the Year and twice the Forward Prize for best individual poem. His latest poetry is found in his collection, Diary of the Last Man (Carcanet, 2017). His debut novel, Sea Holly, was published in 2007, and shortlisted for the 2008 Ondaatje Prize. Carol Ann Duffy describes him as “one of the most important poets of these turbulent times”. He and Gillian Clarke were the first ever tutors at Tŷ Newydd. He is advisor to the charity, Sustainable Wales and was editor of the international quarterly Poetry Wales from 1997 to 2008. His New Selected Poems was published by Carcanet in 2012 and in 2015 his novel Limestone Man was published by Seren, who also published his 2013 collection of essays, Island of Lightning.

Guest Reader

Kim Moore

Kim Moore’s poetry collection The Art of Falling was published by Seren in April 2015 and won the Geoffrey Faber Award. She won a New Writing North Award in 2014, an Eric Gregory Award in 2011 and the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize in 2010.

Online Booking

Paying by Cheque?

If you wish to pay by cheque, simply use the online booking form above and select ‘Pay by Cheque’ in the payment options.

Not sure what to expect?

For detailed information about attending a course or retreat at Tŷ Newydd, take a look at our frequently asked questions page…

Need Some Help?

If you have any questions or are experiencing problems with booking online, call us…

+44 (0) 1766 522 811